Projects

Sri Lanka:


Since 1997, PRIPA performs a study which examines the potential and the prospects for the cultivation and processing of organic fruit, -nuts and -spicies in Sri Lanka.

In particular the questions the project dedicated to the current state of the organic industry and its future potential with regard to:

      the demand and of suitable establishing agro climatic regions
      agricultural and economic aspects of selected products
      finishing options
      problems and restrictions on the industry.

PRIPA organic Colombo (Pvt) Ltd. has groups of farmers, using appropriate technologies that are affordable for poor rural communities. This form of organic growing, small-scale farmers in Sri Lanka has given economic and social viability with marketable products. The most important of which are fruit preserves, dried fruits, coconuts, cashew nuts and spices.




Coconut project in Sri Lanka:


Since 1997, PRIPA in SriLanka operates an intensive feasibility study which examines potential and prospects for cultivation and processing of organic fruits, organic nuts and organic spices in Sri Lanka. Here, special attention to the production of knowledge relating to the current state of the organic industry and the impact focuses on on their future capacity under tropical conditions in terms of:

demand and determining suitable agro climatic regions,
agricultural, economic, market-specific considerations for selected products,
finishing options,
problems and restrictions within the industry.

PRIPA organic Colombo(Pvt)Ltd.(PRIPA) forces, for example, groups of farmers in the use of appropriate technologies that can be purchased also from poorer rural areas. With the organic cultivation of marketable products, the company provides economic survival and a proper social standard of living with many small-scale farmers in Sri Lanka. The main marketable products are fruit preserves, dried fruits, coconuts, cashew nuts and variety of spices.
As a result of the above study and also, to prove the competence of PRIPA sustainable development within the organic food industry, PRIPA has initiated the coconut project.
For this purpose were 71 farmers, with 257 ha of arable land in the District of Gampaha and Kurunegala, by the control Union Organisation(CU)zertifiziert. Thus pursues an objective of the study to check the effective arrangement of work processes, to define the potential for expansion and diversification, as well as the technical requirements for the further development of organic production, and finally to certify.


Advantages for the associations of organic farmers in Sri Lanka have emerged as a results of the project:

A good market has developed it for fresh coconut from the certified work of the organic farmers. The work of the 50 selected coconut collector from the villages of the district has proven itself and will be extended to to achieve that a farmer combination forms, which collect the coconuts as a dedicated business can independently operate. The resulting connections between organic farmers and foreign collectors are integrated in the production structure and expanded and extended for existence improving services (z.B. technology, loans, raw material suppliers, markets, etc.). The necessary infrastructure for the production, collection and transport that is the logistics from and to the production centers has improved considerably and will be further developed. The production centers create more employment opportunities and ensure a significant income to the families in the immediate vicinity of their place of residence. To identify the employees in a very positive manner with their job and their employer. Also retained the ancestral, natural habitats by the practice of environmentally friendly production and processing methods

The farmers, who have been convinced by PRIPA to operate Community agriculture, are the actual beneficiaries of the project. This also applies to the staff of PRIPA in Colombo resulting to 15 employees. The Group of more than one hundred collectors of organic raw material, farmers, workers and employees in the districts of Kurunegala, Kandy, Puttalam, Anuradhapura and Monaragala benefit indirectly from its input into PRIPA. The same applies for the farmers, who further recycle waste with as, for example, the fibers of the shell of the coconut, as organic fertilizer. Therefore a total of 189 families of officers and employees from the production centers have an adequate and secure standard of living, as long as but no harvest disasters occur. Yet such are also the suppliers of packaging (boxes, bags, boxes and pallets), which also benefit that the coconut project is established by PRIPA in this way in life.

PRIPA improved standard of living of the farmers
A goal of the project is to improve the technologies for the cultivation of organic fruit and coconuts. As a result, the socio-economic standards in the rural communities that raw materials are involved in the collection and sale of organic products are upgraded. The project, which is limited at the moment on certain districts, can be extended to increase production as needed.




Thailand:


Since 2007, our banana project in Thailand is running.

Projekte

Sri Lanka:


Seit 1997 führt PRIPA eine Studie durch, die das Potenzial und die Aussichten für den Anbau und die Verarbeitung von Biofrüchten, -nüssen und -gewürzen in Sri Lanka untersucht.

Im Besonderen widmet sich das Projekt den Fragen nach dem gegenwärtigen Stand der Biobranche und ihrem zukünftigen Potenzial hinsichtlich:

      der Nachfrage und der Bestimmung agro-klimatisch geeigneter Anbaugebiete
      landwirtschaftlicher und wirtschaftlicher Aspekte ausgewählter Produkte
      Veredelungsmöglichkeiten
      Problemen und Beschränkungen der Branche.

PRIPA Organic Colombo (Pvt) Ltd. beschäftigt Zusammenschlüsse von Bauern, die geeignete Technologien nutzen, die für arme Landgemeinden erschwinglich sind. Diese Form des Bioanbaus hat Kleinbauern in Sri Lanka wirtschaftliche und soziale Überlebensfähigkeit mittels marktfähiger Produkte verschafft. Die wichtigsten davon sind Fruchtkonserven, Trockenfrüchte, Kokosnüsse, Cashewnüsse und Gewürze.




Kokosprojekt in Sri Lanka:


Seit 1997 betreibt PRIPA in SriLanka eine intensive Projektstudie, die Potenzial und Perspektiven für Anbau und Verarbeitung von Biofrüchten, Bionüssen und Biogewürzen in Sri Lanka untersucht. Dabei richtet sich die besondere Aufmerksamkeit auf die Gewinnung von Erkenntnissen im Zusammenhang mit dem aktuellen Zustand der Biobranche und den Auswirkungen auf ihr zukünftiges Leistungsvermögen unter tropischen Bedingungen im Hinblick auf:

NachfrageundBestimmung agro-klimatisch geeigneterAnbaugebiete,
landwirtschaftliche, wirtschaftliche,marktspezifische Gesichtspunktefür ausgewählte Produkte
Veredelungsmöglichkeiten
ProblemeundBeschränkungeninnerhalb der Branche.

So forciert PRIPA Organic Colombo(Pvt)Ltd.(PRIPA) beispielsweise Zusammenschlüsse von Bauern bei der Nutzung geeigneter Technologien, die auch von ärmeren Landgemeinden erworben werden können. Mit dem Bioanbau marktfähiger Produkte verschafft das Unternehmen zahlreichen Kleinbauern in Sri Lanka das wirtschaftliche Überleben und einen adäquaten sozialen Lebensstandard. Die wichtigsten marktfähigen Produkte sind Fruchtkonserven, Trockenfrüchte, Kokosnüsse, Cashewnüsse und viele Arten von Gewürzen.
Als Folge aus der oben beschriebenen Studie und auch, um die Kompetenz von PRIPA bei der nachhaltigen Entwicklung innerhalb der Bionahrungsbranche zu beweisen, hat PRIPA das Kokosnussprojekt initiiert.
Hierfür wurden 71 Bauern, mit 257ha Anbaufläche in den Distrikten Gampaha und Kurunegala, durch die Control Union Organisation(CU)zertifiziert. Damit wird ein Ziel der Studie verfolgt, die effektive Anordnung der Arbeitsabläufe zu überprüfen, das Potenzial für Ausbau und Diversifizierung sowie die technischen Anforderungen für die weitere Entwicklung des Bioanbaus zu definieren und schließlich zu zertifizieren.


Als Ergebnisse des Projektes haben sich folgende Vorteile für die Zusammenschlüsse der Biobauern in Sri Lanka herausgebildet:

Es hat sich ein guter Markt für frische Kokosnuss aus der zertifizierten Arbeit der Biobauern entwickelt. Die Arbeit der 50 ausgewählten Kokosnusssammler aus den Distriktdörfern hat sich bewährt und wird erweitert, um zuerreichen, dass sich ein Bauernzusammenschluss bildet, der das Sammeln der Kokosnüsse als eigenständiges Geschäft selbstständig betreiben kann. Die entstandenen Verbindungen zwischen Biobauern und auswärtigen Sammlern werden in die Produktionsstruktur integriert und ausgebaut und für Existenzverbessernde Dienstleistungen erweitert(z.B.Technologie, Kredite, Rohmaterial Lieferanten, Märkte usw.).
Die nötige Infrastruktur für den Anbau, das Sammeln und den Transport, das heißt die Logistik von und zu den Produktionszentren, hat sich wesentlich verbessert und wird weiter entwickelt. Die Produktionszentren schaffen vermehrt Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten und gewährleisten den Familien in der unmittelbaren Nähe ihres Wohnortes ein nennenswertes Einkommen. Damit identifizieren sich die Mitarbeiter in einer sehr positiven Art und Weise mit ihrer Aufgabe und ihrem Arbeitgeber. Außerdem bleiben die angestammten, natürlichen Lebensräume durch die Praktizierung umweltfreundlicher Anbau- und Verarbeitungsmethoden erhalten.

Die Bauern, die von PRIPA überzeugt wurden, gemeinschaftliche Landwirtschaft zu betreiben, sind die eigentlichen Nutznießer des Projektes. Das gilt auch für die mittlerweile auf 15 Beschäftigte angewachsene Belegschaft von PRIPA in Colombo. Die Gruppe der mehr als hundert Sammler von Bio-Rohmaterial, Bauern, Arbeiter und Angestellte in den Distrikten Kurunegala, Kandy, Puttalam, Anuradhapura und Monaragala profitieren indirekt von ihrer Zuarbeit für PRIPA. Gleiches gilt für die Bauern, die Abfall bei derProduktion, z.B. die Fasern vom Schälen der Kokosnuss, als Bio-Dünger weiter verwerten. Damit verfügen die insgesamt 189 Familien der Angestellten und Mitarbeiter aus den Produktionszentren über einen auskömmlichen und gesicherten Lebensstandard, solange allerdings keine Erntekatastrophen eintreten. Noch hinzuzuzählen sind auch die Zulieferanten von Verpackungsmaterial (Schachteln, Säcke, Dosen und Paletten), die ebenfalls davon profitieren, dass das Kokosnussprojekt von PRIPA in dieser Weise ins Leben gerufen worden ist.

PRIPA verbessert Lebensstandard der Bauern
Ein Ziel des Projektes ist es, die Technologien für den Anbau von Biofrüchten und Kokosnüssen zu verbessern. Dadurch werden die sozioökonomischen Standards in den bäuerlichen Gemeinden, die am Sammeln und dem Verkauf von Naturkost Rohmaterial beteiligt sind, aufgewertet. Das Projekt, das im Moment noch auf bestimmte Distrikte begrenzt ist, kann bei Steigerung der Produktion nach Bedarf ausgeweitet werden.




Thailand:


Seit 2007 läuft unser Bananenprojekt in Thailand.